SC sets aside election tribunal’s decision to disqualify PML-N MNA

ISLAMABAD: The Supreme Court on Wednesday set aside the election tribunal’s decision to disqualify Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) MNA Sheikh Muhammad Akram from NA-89, Jhang and declare Maulana Muhammad Ahmad Ludhianvi of the Ahle Sunnat Wal Jamaat (ASWJ) the winner.

The Election Commission of Pakistan and an election tribunal in April 2014, declared Ludhianvi the winner after PML-N MNA Sheikh Muhammad Akram was disqualified for allegedly being a loan defaulter. The election tribunal had passed the order on a petition filed by Ludhianvi in which he had alleged that Akram was not an eligible candidate as he did not fulfil the condition of being “sadiq and ameen” (truthful and trustworthy).

A three-judge bench of the apex court headed Justice Mian Saqib Nisar while hearing Akram’s appeal against the election tribunal’s decision to declare Ludhyanvi as winning candidate from Jhang’s NA-89 constituency, reserved its judgement on December 8, 2015.

The court had also disqualified Akram from contesting the by-election. Akram had defeated Ludhianvi in the May 11, 2013, elections with a slim 2,726-vote lead.

The tribunal, among several other reasons, disqualified Akram for not mentioning in his nomination form that an FIR was lodged against him.

Akram had contested his removal in the Supreme Court as his party saw no “solid reason” for the tribunal’s ruling to remove him.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s