Misbah eyes English county stint to prolong Test career

KARACHI: Pakistan Test captain Misbah-ul-Haq on Sunday expressed his desire to prolong his Test career and also revealed his plans to feature in English County cricket to maintain fitness and form.

“If I am in the ground it’s obvious that I am playing competitive cricket, so I have that in mind to play [the] series in England,” Misbah told AFP.

“I am making an effort so that if I play in those conditions (for a county), it will help me because I have not played Tests in England so it would be good if I get that opportunity,” he added.

Pakistan tours England for four Tests in July next year.

Misbah said he hopes to stay in the view of selectors by playing more domestic matches.

“I am looking at my Test career,” said the 41-year-old.

After Pakistan’s proposed series against arch-rivals India recently fell though, 41-year-old Misbah has played first-class matches for Sui Northern Gas in Karachi, which he believes was necessary to keep his hand in.

“Not playing India is disappointing because when we play against an Asian team, especially India, they test us well so its disappointing for players on both the sides and fans,” said Misbah.

“But there is still some time left, so mentally and physically I am getting ready and keeping myself motivated,” said Misbah, who retired from T20 cricket in 2012 and one-days earlier this year.

Leave a Reply

